Stringent testing

In order to attain the clearSkies mark a manufacturer needs to demonstrate that its product meets or exceeds the requirements for four different maximum emission limit tests and an efficiency test.

The emission tests cover carbon monoxide (CO), nitrogen oxides (NOx), organic gaseous compounds (OGC) and particulate matter (PM).

Read more about emissions here.


Manufacturing control

In addition to providing evidence to confirm the efficiency and emissions of an appliance, manufacturers also need to confirm that they have a process in place for ensuring manufacturing control over their clearSkies certified appliances to ensure consistency of production. This is a requirement of the Ecodesign Directive 2009/125 and gives further assurance that your clearSkies certified fireplace or stove is manufactured to the highest standards.

Cutting edge appliances

The emissions and efficiency limits for clearSkies Levels 2 & 3 are the same as those set under ecodesign, meaning these products comply with all the standards requirements that came into force in the UK on 1st January 2022. Products that achieve a clearSkies Level 4 or 5 not only meet these requirements, they go some considerable way beyond them as well, giving you even greater reassurance that your choice of stove helps to improve air quality by minimising emissions and maximising efficiency. You can read more about the clearSkies certification system here.

Learn More